Lent is upon Us

You know Lent is upon you when the highlight of your day is going down to the local IHOP to fill up on a short stack of free pancakes, you make a special trip to Starbucks and get extra caramel on that Macchiato, and you have seconds on dessert which, by the way, were incredibly delicious Starbucks Coffee Mud Pie ice cream bars. (In my defense, a couple of hours have past since my 1st one and isn’t that why it’s called Fat Tuesday anyway?!?)

So now that my stomach has been sufficiently filled in preparation for the fast tomorrow on Ash Wednesday, it seems it would be a good time to reflect with you on my plans for Lent. You know those plans that are suppose to aid us on our path to holiness. Those things that we resolve to do every year (somewhat like a  Catholic version of New Year’s resolutions.) Those things that most of us eventually fail at atleast once during Lent. Well, here are mine:

  • Give up Starbucks.  I have such a weakness for Starbucks and now with the drive-thru windows and the shops in almost every grocery or discount store, it is becoming more difficult to resist the gravitational pull it seems to have on me. This really sunk in the other day as I drove past an add for cigarettes priced at $4.20 a pack. Who would pay $4.20 for a pack of smokes? How absurd! And then came the Quiet Voice with conviction, “A Cinnamon Dulce latte is $4.20. How many have you bought this week?” Ouch! Okay, no more Starbucks.
  • Keep an accurate expense record. Be accountable for every penny spent and see how it is spent. This is so intimidating to me but I feel it’s a sacrifice that must be done. It’s a little way I can make a gift of myself to my dear husband who is willing to work a paper route (in addition to his regular 50 hours a week) so we can pay off debt we have accumulated due to medical bills and other big things that have come up. So if he’s willing to sacrifice sleep, I’m going to do everything I can to make sure it’s for as short of time as possible.
  • Exercise, eat well & take care of my body. It is a gift that I’ve been neglecting for too long.
  • Question for quiet time with the Lord in the morning: Lord, what gift do you have for me to receive today? How can I make myself a gift to you, my husband, & the children today?
  • Question for the Lord at night: Did I receive you today? Did I receive my husband and the children today as gifts?
  • Pray the Liturgy of the Hours with my spouse and children everyday.
  • Try to get back to praying Divine Mercy every afternoon.

 So there it is. My list. Will I execute this perfectly this Lent or will I fall short of what I have set out to do? I already know the answer. I will fall short because we all fall short of the Glory of God but it is in the falling & failing that we are weak enough to rely on His Mercy to make us holy, not on our own strength.

Have a blessed Lent and let us not forget-His joy comes in the Morning! 

1 Response to “Lent is upon Us”


  1. 1 Dawn February 22, 2007 at 9:11 am

    Beautiful list. I am going to add your “tracking expenses” resolution to my own. Our husbands work so hard – what a nice way to honor that. Thank you for the idea! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Rocky Mountain Catholic Home Educator’s Conference

June 21-23, 2007 http://www.rmchec.org/

The Glory of God is man fully alive! -St. Irenaus

Recent Photos

“Every experience of beauty points to infinity.”

-Hans Urs von Balthasar
February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Copyright

All written material and original photographs on this site copyright © 2007

Blog Stats

  • 19,650 hits

